Logo: Manatee County Tax Collector, Ken Burton Jr. Innovating better ways to serve.

Office Hours
Monday – Friday, 9 AM - 4:30 PM

Selling Your Vehicle, Boat, or Mobile home
Florida Statute 319.22(2)(b) requires the owner/co-owner to complete a Notice of Sale and submit it to the State Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of selling a vehicle, boat, or mobile home.

If you are unable to come into the office with the purchaser to transfer ownership of the title, completing the Notice of Sale may prevent legal issues if the title record is marked sold in the Division of Motor Vehicles database. This can be completed one of two ways:

Option 1: Go Online 24 hours a day / 7 days a week!

Go online - or scan the QR code to access the site - and electronically notify the State of Florida that you sold your vehicle!

Option 2: By Mail

If you have the older revised Florida title that does not contain the notice of sale, see page 4 of this publication for
 a separate Notice of Sale. We suggest that you keep a copy of the Notice of Sale Form for your records. (If you need assistance on how to properly complete the Florida title for transfer, see page 3.) 

The Notice of Sale (original) may be mailed to the Division of Motor Vehicles at the following address:

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS #72
Neil Kirkman Building
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0500

Please Note: Submitting the Notice of Sale will only mark the title record as "sold" within the Division of Motor Vehicles database. The ownership status will not change in the Division of Motor Vehicles database until the purchaser applies for and is issued a Florida Certificate of Title in their name. There is no fee to mark a title as sold.
Surrender the Florida License Plate

If you have sold (or otherwise disposed of) your motor vehicle, canceled the Florida insurance (or changed to an out-of-state policy) and/or are not immediately transferring the Florida license plate to a different vehicle, it is recommended that you surrender the license plate by mail or in person to a local tax collector's office. Failure to do so may result in suspension of your Florida Driver License per Florida Statutes. The following options are available to surrender your Florida license plate:

 Online - If you no longer have the physical license plate, access the Surrender/Cancel Lost Plate   (https://form.jotform.com/Operationsmail/online-forms) application and submit online!

 By Mail - License plate(s) surrendered by mail must include an affidavit    (https://public.powerdms.com/MCTC/documents/1474052) indicating that you wish to cancel the Florida plate. To complete the affidavit, enter the vehicle information at the top of the form, mark the first box that states "I would like to surrender/cancel plate #..." and fill in the license plate number. At the bottom of the form, sign, print, and date the affidavit. Mail the license plate and affidavit to the address listed below:

Manatee County Tax Collector's Office
Attn: Plate Surrender
819 301 Blvd W
Bradenton, FL 34205

 In Person - Bring your Florida license plate to surrender to one of our office locations. Receptionists will surrender the license plate by the end of business hours, but if you have any transactional questions, an appointment would be required. 

Note: There is no fee to surrender a Florida license plate. A receipt will not be mailed for a license plate surrendered by mail. You must visit an office by appointment to obtain a receipt for surrendering a license plate.
First Manatee South County Tag Agency - extended hours and Saturday hours

The First Manatee South County Tag Agency processes registration and title transactions for vehicles, boats, and mobile homes, as well as parking permits. This office does not offer driver license, hunting and fishing, or property tax services.

It offers extended hours (9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Friday) and Saturday hours (9 a.m. to 2 p.m.). Appointments are available, but not required. To schedule an appointment, visit the auto tag agency website (autotagagency.net). It is located in Southwood Shoppes at 5756 14th Street West, Bradenton, FL 34207. Their phone number is 941.782.6050.

This office accepts cash, check, and debit. A 3.5% fee will be charged on all check transactions to guarantee funds and on all debit transactions as a processing fee. An additional $20 fast title fee applies to titles printed on-site.

The First Manatee South County Tag Agency is a privately owned business operating under the authority granted by the Manatee County Tax Collector's Office.

Appointments Required / Office Locations

Appointments are REQUIRED for all transactions! Visit taxcollector.com to schedule an appointment. We only serve Manatee County residents and businesses. Limit 4 transactions per appointment. We have 3 convenient offices to serve you: our DeSoto Office (located closest to the Island and to West and Central Bradenton), our Lakewood Ranch Office (located closest to Lakewood Ranch and East Manatee County), and our North River Office (located closest to Palmetto, Ellenton, and Parrish).
Non-Manatee County Residents

Not a Manatee County resident? Out-of-county residents can only be served at First Manatee South County Tag Agency. See the section above for more details regarding the First Manatee South County Tag Agency. Otherwise, you will need to visit your home county tax collector's office.

Below are two examples of accurately completed Florida titles (different versions)
(Alternative text for title image)

SoldVehicle – Last Update: 04/03/2023